---
title: "Black-Market Retatrutide: Reported Deaths and Real Dangers"
description: "Two deaths linked to black-market 'Reta' were reported to the FDA in 2026. What the reports say, what lab tests found, and why the cause is unproven."
url: https://retatrutide.med/blog/retatrutide-black-market-deaths
date: 2026-10-22
lastUpdated: 2026-10-22
author: "retatrutide.med Editorial"
category: "news"
tags: ["retatrutide deaths", "reta", "black market", "gray market", "counterfeit retatrutide", "FDA", "FAERS", "poison centers", "safety", "research peptides"]
source: retatrutide.med
sourceType: "blog post"
license: CC-BY-NC-SA-4.0
canonical: https://retatrutide.med/blog/retatrutide-black-market-deaths
---
**Short answer:** in 2026 the FDA received two reports of women who died after injecting products sold as retatrutide ("Reta") outside any clinical trial. The reports do not prove the drug caused either death, and neither product was tested. What is established is that black-market "retatrutide" is widely sold, that poison-center calls about it more than tripled during 2026, and that independent testing has found vials with no retatrutide in them, the wrong drug, or bacteria. Retatrutide is not approved anywhere; the only legitimate ways to receive it are a [clinical trial](/clinical-trials/find-a-trial) or Lilly's narrow [expanded access program](/blog/retatrutide-expanded-access-program).

This article sets out what each piece of evidence shows and what it does not. The enforcement background (Lilly's lawsuits, FDA warning letters, the Australian counterfeit) is covered in [Retatrutide Black Market, Late 2026](/blog/retatrutide-black-market-crackdown-2026).

## The two death reports

On October 13, 2026, CBS News reported that the FDA had received two reports of deaths involving products claiming to be retatrutide. CBS obtained the reports under the Freedom of Information Act, in redacted form.

| | First report | Second report |
|---|---|---|
| Received by FDA | July 2026 | September 2026 |
| Patient | Woman, 41, with obesity, described as otherwise healthy | Woman, 49 |
| Source of the product | "An unreliable source" | Vials sold to her by a registered nurse, who also gave her doses; the vial pictured was labelled "AlphaLabs" |
| What happened | Taken to hospital with a dangerously fast heartbeat; cardiac arrest; resuscitation failed | Severe dehydration, malnutrition and cardiac arrest |
| Other factors noted | She was drinking kava at the time of the emergency | Not stated in the redacted report |

Neither death was connected to a clinical trial. The FDA declined to say whether it had verified either report. A lawyer for the Alpha Labs owner said the redacted report did not contain enough information, such as a lot number, to show whether the company sold the product, and that the vial pictured did not match its current packaging.

Eli Lilly told CBS the reports "make clear the two individuals were taking black-market retatrutide," and said it has found products "with too much, too little, or the wrong active ingredient," as well as contaminants.

### What an FDA adverse event report can and cannot show

Both deaths were submitted to the FDA's adverse event reporting system (now called the FDA Adverse Event Monitoring System, formerly FAERS). Anyone can file a report, and the FDA states the limits plainly on its own dashboard:

- "For any given report, there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
- "The information in these reports cannot be used to estimate the incidence (occurrence rates) of the events reported."

What the reports establish is narrow: two deaths were reported in which a product sold as retatrutide was the suspect. We do not know what was in either vial, how much was injected, what other conditions or substances were involved, or whether the product played any part. Pieter Cohen of Harvard Medical School told CBS the FDA should obtain and analyse the actual products both patients used.

The clinical picture in both reports, a fast heart rate and cardiac arrest, and in the second, severe dehydration and malnutrition, is plausible for an incretin-type drug taken without supervision, an overdose, or a mislabelled product. It is equally consistent with causes unrelated to the vial. With an unregulated product, nobody can answer that question afterwards.

## Poison-center calls more than tripled in 2026

America's Poison Centers, which began tracking retatrutide exposures in late 2025, logged the following, as reported by CBS News:

| Period (2026) | Reported retatrutide exposures |
|---|---|
| January to March | 249 |
| April to June | 460 |
| July to September | 862 |

Poison-center counts are calls, not confirmed poisonings, and rising counts are common when a substance is newly tracked. The direction is still clear. If you or someone you know has injected a product sold as retatrutide and feels unwell, call Poison Help at **1-800-222-1222** (United States) or emergency services.

## What independent testing has found

Three tests in 2026 looked at what is in the vials.

**CBS News, October 21, 2026.** A reporter bought "retatrutide" from a clinic website (no consultation before it arrived), from a Florida gym's website, and over the counter at a Brooklyn corner store for $90, the last labelled "Research use only, not for human consumption." A University of Iowa scientist found both online samples consistent with a basic retatrutide standard he made, which is not the same as Lilly's trial drug. The corner-store vial did not appear to contain any peptide; it contained phenylacetic acid, a filler used in fragrances and lip balms, and further testing grew **13 bacterial colonies** from it. Purity, dose and sterility of the online samples were not reported.

**Australia's Therapeutic Goods Administration, September 14, 2026.** A product sold as retatrutide, tested after a patient was hospitalised, contained **no retatrutide** and instead about **eight times** the semaglutide content of approved products. The patient's vomiting tore the oesophagus.

**What Lilly says it has found:** products with too much, too little or the wrong ingredient, and contaminants.

A certificate of analysis from a seller cannot settle any of this. It describes one sample, at one time, tested by a lab the seller chose. It says nothing about the vial you receive, whether it stayed sterile after opening, or whether it was stored cold. Our guide to [research peptides versus pharmaceutical-grade drugs](/knowledge-base/research-peptides-vs-pharmaceutical-grade) explains why.

## A published case: one month of "retatrutide" and a hospital stay

In October 2026, doctors at University Hospital Zurich described a woman in her mid-20s admitted with five days of nausea, vomiting and loose stools after four weekly, escalating injections of a product reported to contain retatrutide. A self-described life coach without medical qualifications had supplied and dosed it. Her symptoms did not respond to three standard anti-nausea drugs (metoclopramide, ondansetron and domperidone), improved two days after admission, and resolved within a week. The authors rated the link to the injections as "probable" on a standard causality scale.

It is one case. It illustrates the pattern seen in the trials, where gastrointestinal side effects are the most common and are reduced by slow dose escalation under supervision, playing out without that supervision.

## What people taking it say

A study published in JAMA Network Open on October 1, 2026 analysed Reddit posts from 13,589 users who described taking non-approved retatrutide. Among the 7,823 who reported at least one symptom, the most common were increased appetite (17.1%), fatigue (15.2%), increased energy (12.4%) and nausea (11.6%); 4.8% reported an increased heart rate and 3.8% a racing heart (tachycardia). The authors call the findings "hypothesis-generating" because they cannot verify what people injected or measure how often effects occur. We cover the study in detail in [Retatrutide Side Effects Outside Clinical Trials](/blog/retatrutide-real-world-side-effects).

## Why the trial safety data does not transfer to the black market

In the trials, retatrutide was made to a validated specification, its dose was known, it was started at 2 mg and increased in steps every four weeks, and participants were seen regularly by study staff who recorded vital signs and side effects. The trials report side effects for that product under those conditions. Our [side effects overview](/knowledge-base/side-effects) summarises them.

A vial bought online removes every one of those conditions. The dose may be wrong by a large factor, the product may be another drug, and nobody is watching for warning signs such as a persistently fast heartbeat, inability to keep fluids down, or dizziness on standing. The deaths reported to the FDA are unproven as cause and effect, but they are exactly the outcome the trial safeguards exist to prevent.

## What to do if you have used black-market retatrutide

- **Seek care for warning signs:** chest pain, a racing or irregular heartbeat, fainting, vomiting that stops you keeping fluids down, severe abdominal pain, or signs of infection at the injection site. Tell the clinician what you injected and bring the vial if you have it.
- **Report it:** to the FDA through [MedWatch](https://www.fda.gov/safety/medwatch-fda-safety-information-and-adverse-event-reporting-program), and to Poison Help (1-800-222-1222) in the United States. Reports are how the FDA learns about these products.
- **Talk to a doctor about approved options.** Several approved medicines produce substantial weight loss today, and retatrutide trials are still [enrolling at some sites](/clinical-trials/find-a-trial).

## Frequently asked questions

### Has anyone died from retatrutide?

Two deaths were reported to the FDA in 2026 after use of products sold as retatrutide outside clinical trials. Neither report proves the product caused the death, and neither product was tested. In the published trials that report deaths (TRIUMPH-2 and TRANSCEND-T2D-1), every death was judged unrelated to retatrutide.

### Is "Reta" the same as retatrutide?

"Reta" is the street name for products sold as retatrutide. Testing has shown that what is sold under the name may be retatrutide, a different drug such as semaglutide, or no peptide at all.

### Is black-market retatrutide safe if it comes with a lab certificate?

No certificate can make an unregulated product safe. A certificate covers one sample tested by a lab the seller selected, and does not cover sterility, storage or the next batch.

### Where can I get real retatrutide?

Only through a clinical trial or, for adults with severe obesity that has not responded to approved treatment, through a physician request to Lilly's expanded access program. See [how to get retatrutide](/knowledge-base/how-to-get-retatrutide).

*This article is for education and is not medical advice. Retatrutide is an investigational drug that is not approved by the FDA or any other regulator.*
